top of page
  • Writer's pictureGwen Matthews

Waiting and Growing Up


I finished a sock. Just one, I'm still working on the second one. I haven't worked on the blanket because I don't have the yarn to. I got my driver's license, an amazing feat for a 23 year old.

I've been waiting. Waiting to feel like a grown up, waiting to be ready to take the road skills test (I wasn't but I did it anyway), waiting to feel motivated, waiting for anything to pull me out of where I am. I can't keep waiting.

When I was in the hospital, one of the doctors was reading through my journal and came across a page about all the waiting I was doing there. He suggested that I try to use the waiting time for introspection, for figuring out how to get better.

I can't keep waiting. I have to do more. I have to act like I've grown up. I have to motivate myself. I have to get myself unstuck.

How do I act more grown up? I have to make more money, there's no way around that. 20 hours a week at minimum wage just isn't enough to be able to act like a grown up. Hopefully I will get the Wells Fargo job. If I don't I have to work more at McDonald's until I get another job. I can't stop looking though, I can't give up on getting out of there.

What do grown ups do that I don't? They pay rent; they pay for their own cars and gas; they buy their own food; they act responsibly; they have budgets and actually stick to them; they keep their spaces clean; they exercise; they eat healthy; they know what's important to them.

What do they not do? They don't rely on their parents for the majority of things; they don't deny responsibility for their lives; they don't know where everything is going or how it'll get there; they don't complain in their minds about everything.

How do I get from here to there. Mostly with money it seems. I have to pay for things like an adult. I have to budget with actual intention to follow it. I have to give up all the things that don't bring me joy.

I'm not sure what brings me joy yet, but I know what doesn't and I need to do my best to get rid of them.

I'm going to try to exercise more. Now that I can drive on my own, I've been going to the gym more. I have a schedule of group classes that I think I want to try. I'm going to use next week to try most of them, I don't know how many I will stick to, but I will try.

I need to grow up to feel better, but to do that I need to act like I've already grown up. It doesn't make much sense to me but it worked with the driver's test, so maybe it will work with this too.


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Does not follow directions well

I have left the hotel. I am going to focus on school this semester. I really want to graduate next fall and that means doing well in my classes. Classes do not start until the 19th, so I've been fo

bottom of page