top of page
  • Writer's pictureGwen Matthews

It's Snowing!

The Christmas trees are up. The creek room tree has all of mom and dad's ornaments, plus some of bros' There were a couple that didn't get sorted through when I made the ornament boxes for each of them. My ornaments are on the white tree in the front room. There are also some generic ornaments on that tree, as well as Boba Fett. I really like my tree. Most of the ornaments are little memories. Overall it's a very Gwen tree.


I finished the knitting on the top for my graphic designer friend. I still need to weave in ends and wash and block it. I haven't even begun to think about starting that yet. With the colder weather, it has turned to blanket season. The scrappy blanket has re-emerged from hibernation. It is very colorful and easy to crochet, though it is pretty big.



I have also been knitting on mitts. Jeeves, my car, does not have heat unless you slam on the breaks. So my hands tend to be freezing when I drive. Mom also suggests a lap blanket to help stay warm. She does not like driving Jeeves as much now.

I started out knitting the pattern Mitt Envy; it's cute but the mitt ended up being way too short for my liking.



Now, I am working on stockinette mitts that follow the math from the Mitt Envy pattern, but without the cables and as long as I want them to be.

I finished the hat for Dad and the socks for Brother's Wife. The socks need to be washed and blocked before I send them off. The hat is already being appreciated. The hat I made for Mom finally has a pompom, which mom feels is too loose and bouncy. It's cute though.


Shockingly, the Rainbow Alpaca Blanket has emerged from hibernation. I finished the last two stripes and sewed one of them on. I fixed the sections that were too long and too short. I just have to sew on the last stripe and crochet a white edge around the top and bottom to keep it from rolling down. And then it will be done.

I started another sweater, a hot pink Ragolano. I did not order the Urban Fisherman kit from Loopy Mango in a very similar color, which is a good choice. They didn't have the color I wanted anyway. I have joined it in the round and broken the join on the circular needle so it has to wait until I get home to get fixed.

The So Faded sweater has also seen some love. I am about a third of the way through the sleeve decreases on the first sleeve. I would rather be working on the Ragalano, but I only brought two projects and one has a broken needle.


School has ended for the semester. Finals are done. Grades have not been released yet. I think I did ok in most classes. The final papers were a bit of a struggle.


The plants, which have been moved into the creek room, are still alive for the most part. Basil did not make it. I need to prune some of them and attempt to regrow the mini pineapple. I might do that today.


I don't really know how I've been feeling. Fairly good I think, but I've been making weird choices. Like, I decided to rearrange my room at 3 am, I didn't do t then, but I did later. I got a smart tv for my room, which like the switch, doesn't really make sense. The list could go on but it's not going to. I have a feeling that the psychiatric powers that be would consider these choices signs of the disorder. I know they're all strange and sometimes bad choices but I make them anyway.

That was a little over a week and a half ago. I was right about the psychiatric powers that be. I did get a bit more manic, but now I feel I've mostly come back to stable. There have been med adjustments that don't seem to have had much affect yet, but these things take weeks. It seems like my bipolar is kind of mixed with big highs and lows in the same day. The lows haven't been too low though. The highs can be a lot higher than my "normal."


Today, I am staying up at the hotel because it's snowing and I'm working until almost midnight. I stayed last night, so I wouldn't have to drive up in the snow today. It's very nice here. It's all decorated for the holidays. There are Christmas trees everywhere. The snow outside is just so pretty since I don't have to drive in it. Even just the very basc room I'm in is so nice. Being here while not working is so relaxing. The only knitting I brought was the two sweaters, and then I broke a needle. So I have one sweater to knit. But I have Googlette, who has downloaded two disney movies. and I only have four hours before work.



I don't know if I've mentioned my Tarot Card project on here. Basically, I went through my Celestial Tarot deck and came up with good thoughts and actions for each card. There are a lot of cards in a tarot deck. So now I can draw a card when I can't think of what kind of coping skill I should use and the chart tells me. I am however, kind of lazy and don't like looking the cards up in the chart. So my new plan is to ask the artist I work with to design a tarot deck that has the thoughts and actions on each card. I still have to talk to him about it, and it's probably going to be a bit pricey, since there are so many cards. The chart alone is 15 pages. I need to come up with what I want the basic cards to look like. I'm thinking green ribbons for the thoughts and actions, and a white ribbon for the name of the card, then a picture frame type thing for the card's image. I think it could turn out really cool if he's willing to do it.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Does not follow directions well

I have left the hotel. I am going to focus on school this semester. I really want to graduate next fall and that means doing well in my classes. Classes do not start until the 19th, so I've been fo

bottom of page