top of page
  • Writer's pictureGwen Matthews

It's Cold

It's been a while. I have been feeling down and unmotivated, at times suicidal. It's just not been a good time for me. The psychiatric powers that be think I'm bipolar. I don't think I'm type 1. I think type 2 might be a possibility, but I'm not sure. Mini mania sounds more like how I get sometimes. I don't know how I feel about maybe being bipolar. If the bipolar meds help, that'd be good. I don't think they've put me on anything specific to bipolar though. I'm mostly on stuff I've already been on.


With the cold weather, Mr. Kitty is rediscovering the joys of fuzzy blankets. He is happy to just find a cushy spot and snuggle up to sleep all day. At least it keeps him out of trouble. He is still loving his cat tree by the window in the creek room. The other cats do not understand his simple pleasures and would rather get in trouble in the kitchen.




I've started a Trello board to keep track of all my projects. It's like digital sticky notes to help with productivity. I'm not entirely sure how it all works yet. Right now I'm organizing them based on the urgent/important squares, which doesn't work too well since only a few projects actually have deadlines.

I have ten projects right now, and I kind of want to cast on more. I like starting things. Projects have so much potential when you first start them. You haven't messed anything up yet. It could still be the perfect thing, but it never ends up that way. I should go through and take pictures of everything again. It doesn't feel like much has progressed significantly.


This morning I did get through the heel flap on Sisterinlaw's second sock. I don't remember the numbers for the heel turn, so I'm going to wait until the sun comes up to do that. It will probably be done by Christmas.



I have worked a little on the top for my Graphic Designer friend. I picked up the stitches for the first sleeve and knit a few rounds before realizing the needle is too short to easily do magic loop. I ordered douple points off the internet because 10.75 is a weird size to get double pointed needles in, and the internet has everything. Those should arrive today, so I'll be able to continue with the sleeves. And then it will be done and I can send it to her. Of course she can't really wear it until spring because she's in New York and it's cold.



I have started loom knitting because I wanted to try a new craft over my birthday. So far I have finished three hats and a headband and I am working on a hat for Dad that has a faux fur brim. Fun fur is a pain to work with because you can't see through the fuzz. It is super soft and looks really nice though. I have a feeling that many people are going to get hats from me in the near future.




I keep getting fabric to make masks and then not actually sewing them. I have four or five cut out and ready to sew but I don't want to actually put them together. My latesst selection has been superheroes and videogame characters, cuz I haven't really been interested in those for a while so why wouldn't I want masks with them? I'm going to wash all the fabric today hopefully. That might encourgae me to get sewing soon. I also got white masks to tie-dye, cuz I really need more projects. In total I have 18 creative projects that I have either started or got the stuff to start. At least tie-dyeing will only take a couple hours of active work. The main thing stopping me from doing it today is that it is really cold outside.




School is going along. I have two weeks of classes left, and at least one class is not meeting that whole time. Then it's exam week; I think I only have one exam, the other classes have final projects thta I'll need to get done. I'm not overly thrilled with how this semester has gone for me. I've kind of been struggling with motivation because of mental health stuff. Online classes also make it harder because I'm not actually around anybody. There aren't any side conversations before class to get to know anybody. It's very isolating. That is pretty much the only way to do school with the virus going around. If I knew that it would be like this, I'm not sure I would have gone back yet. It's been hard but we have to get through it.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Does not follow directions well

I have left the hotel. I am going to focus on school this semester. I really want to graduate next fall and that means doing well in my classes. Classes do not start until the 19th, so I've been fo

bottom of page