top of page
  • Writer's pictureGwen Matthews

Updates from an unintentional hiatus


Hello again, internet. It's been awhile since I last posted. This was brought to my attention when I showed my mom the blog. She promises to spread the word about it so long as I keep posting.

So what's happened in the past several months? I did not get The Bank Job. I quit The Fast Food Job. (Mom says I'm not supposed to mention names) I probably would have kept going with The Fast Food Job for a week longer if the French Fry had not told me that I can't cope with life, and that I'm "not getting another job." I'm currently unemployed though I do have interviews next week.

I'm leaving for a weekend in New York tomorrow. Yay seven hour train ride to the city, plus another hour or so train ride to Long Island. I'm going back to New York for a week in October, I'm going to go to Rhinebeck for the New York State Sheep and Wool Festival. The boyfriend has pointed out that I keep saying "I" am going to have so much fun instead of "we" are going to have so much fun. He has no interest in yarn or sheep (maybe a little in the leaping llamas), so most of his enjoyment is going to come from watching me have fun.

I finished both of the socks from the yarn I got in New York the last time I went. I've started two more pairs of socks, one is going to have aliens on it. Picture yarns from Artistic Yarns by Abi are amazing. They were meant to be a gift for the boyfriend but because of the way the yarn is dyed they can only knit up with the aliens as women's socks. I have also been knitting the Malini shawl by Lisa Hannes. I don't know if I'm enjoying it or not. Parts of it are very tedious, it's all garter stitch and mosaic knitting. I can only do a couple rows at a time. The boyfriend has promised to buy me more yarn for the Color Block Cowl by Joji Locatelli if I finish all the projects this weekend. It is a long train ride.

I have gotten a bit into planner-ing. I got a Happy Planner from Michaels, and I really like it. What I don't like is that I put in all my work hours from the Fast Food Job for the next month, and now I'm not doing any of those. I enjoy the daily planning pages I bought for it, though I had to get the expander rings since it was getting pretty full. I have a hard time remember what it is I have been doing if I don't write it down. It's mostly been knitting and Internetting lately.

I have more journals. I can't go into a craft store without buying something so now I have a stack of journals on my desk with different things in different ones. I want to write more but I don't know what to write about, so if you have a topic throw it at me.

Well, I'm back from New York, so I might as well add to this post since I didn't publish it before I left. New York was not the best. The Depression hit hard while I was there. I just went numb for a couple of days. The hardest was Central Park. My feet hurt from the shoes and I just wanted to crawl into bed and do nothing and the boyfriend was making me "have experiences." I was frustrated and he was frustrated and I didn't want to move from the bench. I felt a bit better during dinner, even though the restaurant was very dark and fairly loud.

I've decided that I do not like big cities. There's too much going on. It's too loud, too busy, and just too much. Long Island was much better than the city. It's full of small towns. I like that.

In other news, the boyfriend is a yarn enabler. Not in that he inspires me to buy yarn, but in that he is willing to drive me all over Long Island and buy me yarn. He is very sweet for doing that. He didn't have to do that since I had failed to keep up my end of the deal (that I would finish 3 projects on the train). He's really trying to help me feel better. I wish I could do the same kind of stuff for him, but his hobbies are even more expensive than mine.

I think I've run out of this to say for now. I may or may not be writing another post tomorrow, I have no idea what it'll be about yet, so enjoy the surprise.


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Does not follow directions well

I have left the hotel. I am going to focus on school this semester. I really want to graduate next fall and that means doing well in my classes. Classes do not start until the 19th, so I've been fo

bottom of page