top of page
  • Writer's pictureGwen Matthews

Weekly update 2


Yay, it's actually getting written a week after week 1!

General Updates

I kind of have a new job. I am just waiting for the background check to come back, so within 2-3 weeks I should be doing orientation. After that I can schedule my start date. It is at the warehouse near here. They only had night shift available, which is going to be an adventure. I may be going nocturnal until I leave the job. It's only four days a week, I chose Sunday through Wednesday. I don't know if I'll actually get that shift. But woohoo, job.

Knitting

I finished the Malini shawl on Tuesday. It looks wonderful but is smaller than I would like. The mosaic detailing is nice.

I have also been working on my alien sock, which I love. I think I'm getting the gauge right now, it was a little iffy at the beginning.

aliens are coming

My Churchmouse toe up sock had a misadventure. I came home from one of my appointments yesterday, and as I walked in the door I noticed the sock was laying in the hallway. I picked it up and noticed that the yarn had broken a foot or so from the knitting, and that it was missing a needle. Then I saw the rest of the yarn wrapped around the banister, into the kitchen, then the dining room, up the stairs and into my room where the majority of the cake was still wrapped. I don't know if it was Mr. Kitty or one of the dogs that attacked or was attacked by the sock, they all claim innocence.

There wasn't much damage to the sock, one needle came out and because of that a couple stitches came unravelled, but they were easily picked up. I have fixed the sock and it's ready to have the cuff finished tomorrow. I am not doing the heels on the Churchmouse socks until after I finish the alien socks because I plan on doing all four afterthought heels one after the other. Hopefully that will work out.

I have started the Joji cowl from the New York yarn. The main color is done mostly in garter stitch which is kind of boring, but every forty rows there's a row of lace.

I have not been writing much poetry or taking photos or painting, or sewing. Though the sewing I can't really do because I don't have the funds for fabric or a fabric stash. Everything else I've just been too lazy to do.

Baking

I have done some baking though. I made peanut butter chocolate chip banana bread. It's regular banana bread with peanut butter morsels and milk chocolate chips in it. I couldn't find the full size loaf pan so I used the mini disposable loaf pans, which are cuter anyway.

Mr. Kitty's Adventures

Mr. Kitty hasn't really been doing much lately, mostly just laying about and purring. But I have a plan (which he most likely won't like), once I have money again (yay almost employment) I am going to get him a harness and a leash. We are going to have outside adventures. We'll start off in the yard, and maybe venture around the neighborhood. I think it'll be good for him, exercise and all that.

Mental Health

This week has been getting better. I have figured out that I need a to do list made the day before so that I actually do stuff. If I don't do stuff I feel bad and then I don't want to do stuff and then I feel worse. It's an unpleasant cycle. But the to do list seems to break it fairly well. I have also been using my Happy Planner to organize my days. The daily pages with their by the hour section are really useful. I just pick one thing to do each hour between when I get up and 6pm. After that is just my time to relax and do whatever.

Mornings can still be difficult. I'm trying to make it so that getting up isn't such a process. I've decided to move my showers to evenings. Now it's mostly just about getting out of bed when I wake up rather than going back to sleep.

I feel like a lot of times I just want a hug.

Anyway, that's been this week. I will write again next Friday.


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Does not follow directions well

I have left the hotel. I am going to focus on school this semester. I really want to graduate next fall and that means doing well in my classes. Classes do not start until the 19th, so I've been fo

bottom of page