top of page
  • Writer's pictureGwen Matthews

On Tasha Tudor


Tasha Tudor created the life she wanted to live even though it didn't fit with contemporary society. She loved the old-timey philosophy of making everything by hand. Her Corgi Cottage was hand built by her son. She was passionate about her antiquated ways.

Although she had to earn enough money to fund her unique lifestyle, Tasha Tudor did it with her passions. She wrote and illustrated children's books and christmas cards. When that wasn't enough, she opened a store rather than go work for someone else.

Tasha Tudor knew what she wanted. She spent her whole life learning new skills to fully achieve it. She knew what was important to her and she did not work on anything she wasn't passionate about.

I want to be like her, not necessarily following in her old-timey ways, but in living a passionate life. I am passionate about creating thing with my own hands. That's why I love baking, knitting, and painting. Doing things on computers is nice but it's just not the same.

I have not figured out how to fund my making with something I'm passionate about yet, hence the warehouse job, but I am beginning to brainstorm it.

I am learning what I don't like, and, like Tasha, a lot of it is contemporary stuff. Th big cities, the hustle and bustle, the noise, the constant need to be "productive" making money, none of that appeals to me. I want real, real experiences, and real connections with people. I feel like everything is just getting too shallow for me.


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Does not follow directions well

I have left the hotel. I am going to focus on school this semester. I really want to graduate next fall and that means doing well in my classes. Classes do not start until the 19th, so I've been fo

bottom of page