top of page
  • Writer's pictureGwen Matthews

Weekly Update 3


Hello again peeps. This week has been interesting. Some stuff got done, some stuff did not. But let's get into it.

General updates

I start the Warehouse job on Sunday. Luckily it's a short night since it's just the orientation. I have been attempting to be more nocturnal, but I can't seem to make it past midnight. Last night Lucky was loudly demanding that I go to bed, and once I actually did turn out the lights and everything, he went and slept in my parents' room.

Knitting

I have mostly been knitting on my gradient band cowl. I am halfway done with the gray part. It looks the same as it did last week, just longer, so I'm not going to post a picture of it

I did "finish" my Churchmouse socks, except for the heel, which I'm not doing yet.

Poetry

I actually have written some poems this week. They are freestyle and unnamed. One is a quasi-sonnet.

1

You want the truth

but the lies are comfortable

the truth is sharp and jagged

like broken glass spilling from my mouth

the lies a pillow to rest on

after fighting the truth

just let me have my Truth

2

Pain ebbs and flows

as the memories come and go

peace one moment

agony the next

all because of one night

a decision that wasn't mine

wasn't his to make

can it be forgiven

3

When in pain

They say don't worry

you will gain

All I've gained is fury

Wrap the cut

Ice the bruise

forgiveness is good, but

forgetting is the worst news

Take time to breathe

you have been broken

remember to leave

him not a token

of what you used to be

recover for all to see

Drawings

I have not been doing any painting, but I have been drawing. They are inspired by tattoo flash because I've been watching too much Bondi Ink on Netflix. The exception is the football player. He is there because I got paid to help decorate the Fastfood lobby, even though I don't work there any more, and the chosen theme was football/cheering.

Photography

I have also been taking a few photos of the various animals that nap in my room.

Mr. Kitty's Adventures

He has had a quiet week again. Most of his weeks are fairly quiet. His main goal has been to smother me with his love. He likes to lay across my chest and neck while I'm sleeping on my back. When he stretches out I end up with a foot jabbing me in the chin.

He has learned that he can leap from my bed onto the top of his cat tree. I don't know if he realizes he can climb up it from the bottom.

Mental Health

I have mostly been stressing about starting the Warehouse Job and switching my sleep schedule. I know I shouldn't really be too stressed about it. It's going to be whatever it's going to be, and after a couple days of working all night, I'm not going to have trouble sleeping during the day. This stress has been getting in the way of being productive at times, but I haven't really had that much that I "needed" to do. A lot of the stuff is more of a want to do, so I don't feel too bad about not doing it. Of course not doing stuff leads to more anxiety, which is not fun.

That's pretty much all I have to say this week, so I'll see you next week.


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Does not follow directions well

I have left the hotel. I am going to focus on school this semester. I really want to graduate next fall and that means doing well in my classes. Classes do not start until the 19th, so I've been fo

bottom of page