top of page
  • Writer's pictureGwen Matthews

New York, again


I am back in New York. The reason I came was to sign a lease with boyfriend so that I can move up here in June, but boyfriend didn't do the necessary stuffs to get that done while I'm here. He will send me the paperwork or bring me back up. He says it will all be fine but I'm still stressed.

Knitting

I have been working on my Find Your Fade. I am six rows from fading in the last color, which I can't do until I get back to Virginia. When I was packing for this visit, I picked up the last skein and found out it was sticky in some spots. I blame the cats, I don't know what they did but I blame them. Once I get back I'll wash it, and then I can finish up the shawl. I did most of color six today while boyfriend was at work. I basically sat on the couch and knitted while watching podcasts and ted talks.

On the train I did a little knitting on my So Faded sweater. I'm not actually fading it, I'm just switching colors when I run out. I'm using the left over yarn from the Find Your Fade.

I knitted one sock for boyfriend. I went half an inch too far with the toe but otherwise it fits. I'm going to be doing sock surgery before I leave. I ran out of yarn for the second sock because boyfriend's feet are too long. We are going to get more yarn tomorrow so hopefully I will be able to leave boyfriend with two socks that fit.

I have plans to join the Long Island Knitting and Crochet Guild once I move up here. They only meet once a month though, so I will probably keep looking for another knitting group.

Baking/Cooking

We have plans to make bourekas while I'm here. According to boyfriend, they are a puff pastry thing with cheese of some kind in the middle and sesame seeds on top. They sound delicious. Boyfriend is doing most of the cooking this time, but I will be making Mongolian Beef.

Mr. Kitty's Adventures

Mr. Kitty stayed home, but he will be coming when I move up here. When I was home he didn't really hang out with me much, at least not in the evenings. In the mornings while I was on my laptop at my desk he would come running up, jump up and slide across the desk to the window. He loves to sit on my desk and look out the window in the morning when it's sunny. After a while he will jump on my bed and just curl up for a nap on my pillow. He has also be going onto his cat tree without being "encouraged" to. He never climbs up it from the ground, he just leaps from my bed straight to the top platform.

Mental Health

I have been doing pretty good. I have forgotten my meds a couple times since the last post and I definitely felt it, but most days I do well. Aside from getting stressed out by the lease stuff, I have been feeling great while I've been here. One of the things I have to do to continue feeling great is find a psychiatrist up here, which is kind of intimidating because I had such a hard time finding one in Virginia, and the one I ended up with was not that great.


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Does not follow directions well

I have left the hotel. I am going to focus on school this semester. I really want to graduate next fall and that means doing well in my classes. Classes do not start until the 19th, so I've been fo

bottom of page