top of page
  • Writer's pictureGwen Matthews

Going Vegan?


I have been watching a lot of youtube videos on veganism lately. They just popped up in my feed and I started watching them. I'm discovering a lot of the health benefits of not eating animal products; they go beyond lower cholesterol and saturated fat. I'm starting to think that it might be a good idea to try to go vegan. Today is actually the first day of my "Forks Over Knives Plan." It simplifies the transition to veganism by changing one meal a week. This week it's breakfast. I ate a surprising amount of food for way less calories than I would have expected. I'm tracking my calories and nutrients in Cronometer so that I know I'm eating enough and getting the right nutrients. I started tracking a few days ago and I am getting a lot of calories and not a lot of nutrients, but with one vegan meal, I am almost halfway to my targets for today. Hopefully this food will keep me full. One problem is that next week I'm going to have to start bringing my lunch to work because the food court doesn't have any vegan options. Except for the churro everything has cheese or meat or both. Boyfriend is not too pleased with my transitioning to a plant based diet, but that needs to be discussed more between the two of us than with the general internet.

My free sessions of personal training are done. They were good workouts and now I have an idea of what to do on my own. At $60 a session it's just too expensive for me to keep going with them. On Monday I am going to try the Fusion program, which is only $99 a month, so it is cheaper. If it's something that really seems like it would work for me, I'll do it.

Knitting

I've mostly been working on my So Faded sweater, which does not look like it's made much progress because I'm still in the sea of stockinette and will be until the last two inches.

I finally got my Ultimate Knitting Book. Since it came at the same time as my vegan books, I haven't really been focusing on it, though I did look through it some. It looks like it will be really helpful.

Mr. Kitty's Adventures

Mr. Kitty went to the vet yesterday. As expected, he did not like the car ride. He meowed the whole time the car was moving. Once we got to the vet he was fine. As soon as he was out of his carrier, he was exploring the room and rubbing against the vet and her assistant. At one point he just sprawled on the floor, stretched out and rolled around. He was a happy kitty until it was time to get back in the car.

They said his eye goopiness was probably caused by a past infection that changed the way his eye drained. It's not bleeding like Dad thought, it's just his tears pooling and leaving residue. Overall he is a happy and healthy kitty.

Mental Health

I've been doing pretty good lately. There has been some boredom induced napping. Mr. Kitty is a great enabler of that. But other than that, I've been mostly happy and mostly productive. Okay, maybe productive isn't the right word for watching youtube videos while knitting but still. I haven't been bad.


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Does not follow directions well

I have left the hotel. I am going to focus on school this semester. I really want to graduate next fall and that means doing well in my classes. Classes do not start until the 19th, so I've been fo

bottom of page