top of page
  • Writer's pictureGwen Matthews

AmeriCorps


I'm going to apply to AmeriCorp NCCC and the state Trail Interpreter programs. I don't know which I'd prefer to do. I like the idea of serving others. I want to do something important, even if it is just filling sandbags. Mom says she's heard horrible things about AmeriCorps, but looking through Reddit, most of the bad stuff is about the Vista program. If I get the NCCC program, I'll be gone for 10 months, the Trail Interpreter program is only 4. I will get paid, barely, but I won't have to cover food or lodging or transportation. I guess one of the main things I got from my experience at Tech was "Ut Prosim," because that's really what I want to do right now. They do require a medical clearance though. According to the people on Reddit, since I've been stable for a while I should be able to pass it.

Knitting

I am almost done with the Find Your Fade shawl, I'm fully on the last color and am just knitting until I get bored with it then I'm going to bind off.

The So Faded sweater without a fade is going well. I'm on the yellow section. It is still tiresome to knit though. It's just round and round in the same stitch.

Boyfriend's sock is still sitting at the end of my desk judging me.

Veganism

So far the Forks Over Knives plan is going well. I have been sticking to it, though none of the food has been particularly amazing. I don't know if I'm going to stick to it once the month is over though.

Mr. Kitty's Adventures

Right now Mr. Kitty is enjoying rubbing on me and his catnip plant. He does enjoy the light from the window in the morning. He also enjoys getting in my way while I'm trying to use my computer.

Mental Health

I am doing pretty good. I'm fairly optimistic. I've been building healthy habits. I just feel good about how things are going.


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Does not follow directions well

I have left the hotel. I am going to focus on school this semester. I really want to graduate next fall and that means doing well in my classes. Classes do not start until the 19th, so I've been fo

bottom of page