top of page
  • Writer's pictureGwen Matthews

Just 6 days and 6 hours more


My AmeriCorps service is nearly done. I have six full days and a six hour day left. With any luck, I can convince one of my fellow interpreters to take my last campfire and I can finish up next Thursday. I am so close and so ready to be done.

Unfortunately, the end of AmeriCorps means a caffeine detox. I have been drinking plenty of caffeine just to be able to drive the hour out to the park every morning. I've noticed my dependency on it when I'm off. I just can't stay awake without it, even when I've had plenty of sleep. When I told Boyfriend to expect a grumpy, tired Gwen, his response was "Boo." The unpleasantness will be worth it once I get to the other side of my detox, but I am not looking forward to it.

I have only been knitting on the sweater, which does not seem to be growing. I haven't put a progress keeper in it, so it just goes round and round. I am hoping to finish it by the end of next month. Maybe it will be cool enough to wear a short sleeve sweater by then.

The solar dyeing is taking forever. After I finish AmeriCorps and regain my energy and free time, I will just take the yarn out of the jars and boil it. It will still be whatever color the sassafras and dandelions produce. It'll just absorb the color much faster.

Mr. Kitty made a mess in the kitchen the other day. My mom had made teriyaki chicken and the pan with the grease and drippings was sitting on top of the sink. The brilliant Mr. Kitty jumped up on it and knocked the whole thing down. The pan ended up halfway across the kitchen with a trail of goo across the floor. By the time I got downstairs, Mr. Kitty was acting innocent by my backpack - which for some reason he loves - and Lucky was trying to help clean up with his tongue. Mr. Kitty was imprisoned in my room for the rest of the night.

I am doing wonderfully right now. With the end of AmeriCorps in sight, I feel like a weight has been lifted. I have a plan for a career that I'll actually like. I'm not going to have any money in September, and I'll have to actually follow a schedule, but I feel good about what I'm doing. I feel like my life is going somewhere that I actually want it to.

I hope you all are feeling as good as I am.


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Does not follow directions well

I have left the hotel. I am going to focus on school this semester. I really want to graduate next fall and that means doing well in my classes. Classes do not start until the 19th, so I've been fo

bottom of page