top of page
  • Writer's pictureGwen Matthews

I'm Back


I've been gone for quite a while. I don't really know why. I've been working a fast food job again. I don't like it. I was planning on quitting at the end of February so I could move to the beach, but that's not going to happen. Working from 5 am to 2-3 pm is really hard. It leaves me very tired even on my days off. I just haven't felt like doing much.

Knitting (and Crochet, cuz apparently I crochet now)

Today I am working on Boyfriend's second scarf. Yes, one was not good enough for him, even after he insisted that I improve on it. Silly engineer, he can't be satisfied with anything until he's optimized it. I have done 14 inches of squishiness. The pattern is called "Cable-icious." It's by Caroline Hershey of Carodan Farm and Chincoteague Colors. It's pretty and I like the cables, but it can be tedious.

Mr. Kitty approves of it.

I have been trying to use up all my yarn scraps by making a "Granny Stripe Blanket" by Attic 24. It's going to take a while. Right now I'm on a huge swath of gray, which is going to be followed by more gray of a different shade. I've started collecting mini skeins for it, probably not a good idea. I don't need them yet.

In terms of sweaters, the "Flying Vee" is hibernating, and "Nightingale" has begun. The Norah Gaughan pattern is amazingly complex and gorgeous in the original black, but I am using an exciting, eye searing, pink. It is called Pop Rocks by Madeline Tosh. It's so squishy. It's going to be the perfect big squishy sweater. It may not be done before the end of winter, but I will love it when it is.

Writing

Writing is kind of struggling right now. I joined the 365 Writing challenge on Facebook. I've been journaling rather than writing on any stories or articles or more professional writing. I am getting my word count in, if not the consistency.

Mr. Kitty's Adventures

Mr. Kitty has discovered my new pillow. He loves it. He has definitely enjoyed curling up on it and sleeping adorably when I want to use it.

Mom has halfway adopted a new cat. Flufftail was waiting on the deck yowling for food this morning. He, or she I don't know, does not get along with the other cats, so he's still completely outside. He is definitely a noisy cat though. I could hear him in the kitchen this morning.

Mental Health

I have decided to go off my meds. I'm doing this by extending the time between when I take them rather than going down half doses. I'm starting with the Effexor since that's supposed to be the hardest to get off of, withdrawl side effects and all. I haven't noticed much of a difference yet. I'm taking the regular dose every other day.


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Does not follow directions well

I have left the hotel. I am going to focus on school this semester. I really want to graduate next fall and that means doing well in my classes. Classes do not start until the 19th, so I've been fo

bottom of page