top of page
  • Writer's pictureGwen Matthews

Mungy


Things have been difficult. Depression has been coming back, possibly because of work, possibly because my plans for becoming more adult keep failing. It's been very hard to do even simple things. Today has been a better day than most lately. I actually got some knitting done.

Knitting

Boyfriend's second scarf is progressing. I finished the first of two skeins that he picked out at Rhinebeck. It is 29 in long and only needs to be 21 in longer before I can stop. Boyfriend got me metal needles for it so I won't continue to be frustrated by the lack of pointiness. The new needles are helping. I'm doing more than just one row and quitting.

My circular lace shawl is being frustrating. I got confused at the start of the second section and messed up a bunch. I tried to rip it back and messed up more. I ended up cutting the yarn and just starting over. I didn't even rip it out because I didn't want to deal with the yarn barf I already had on the floor. I am less than halfway through the first section for the second time.

The scrappy blanket is going along. I finished with the colorful cake and am back on the gray. I chose to go back to the gray so I can't really be annoyed about it.

My Sunlight Shawl for Sad People is finally getting blocked. It's pretty. I'm going to enjoy wearing it. I need some sunlight.

The first of the dragon scale socks is done, minus weaving in ends. It's very pretty. I cast on the second one and have realized why I only did three inches of the lace pattern instead of going all the way down the foot with it. I hate k3tog. It's very annoying. I feel like I don't have the brain space to deal with that lately.

Plants

I got a pansy grow kit the other day. They should sprout in 2-3 weeks, so right now it's just a purple jar with a little net pot of dirt in it. I want it to grow. I almost got the grape tomato windowsill planter but I don't like tomatoes.

I also got some strawberries that I'm going to plant in jars once I come back from New York next week. My desk is going to be covered in jars of plants soon. Which is probably not a good thing with the house going on the market soon.

Minimalism

I read a book on minimalism, I don't remember the title. I just feel like I have way too much stuff. The mess is just frustrating, and it seems like even after I clean there's still just a mess of stuff. I'm going to follow the blaze method of decluttering. Basically I'm going to get everything in the open and choose the most important stuff in like ten minutes and get rid of everything else. Boyfriend is concerned I'm gong to get rid of something important. Honestly, I don't really care. If need be anything can be replaced.

Mental Health

Like I said earlier, I'm not doing so great. I've been extremely tired and it's getting hard to do anything. According to the depression assessment, it's moderately severe. I know re-upping my meds could make it better but I don't want to. I'm going to find other ways to deal with this.


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Does not follow directions well

I have left the hotel. I am going to focus on school this semester. I really want to graduate next fall and that means doing well in my classes. Classes do not start until the 19th, so I've been fo

bottom of page