top of page
  • Writer's pictureGwen Matthews

Bread

Yesterday during magnets, they had the Great British Baking Show playing in the waiting area. I had stopped watching it a few months ago. I had already seen every episode anyway. I got really into the cake week episode while waiting, so I decided to watch bread week during treatment. They're attempts at making rye rolls inspired me to make my own bread today.


The result was two somewhat short loaves of white bread. The recipe came from the Butter with a Side of Bread website. It tasted amazing, particularly because it was warm with a little bit of butter on it. I've already had three slices.


The slices aren't quite tall enough to make sandwiches, but that's ok, I'm still going to eat it.


Shopping Ban

Over Lent, I am going to do a shopping ban. I am not going to buy anything unnecessary for those forty days. I haven't formalized my rules yet. I might post them here when I do. Basically what I'm counting as necessary is groceries, bills, gas for my car, and a few specific things I may have to buy like clothes for work.


This ban was inspired partly by a youtube channel I started watching in January, the Personal Philosophy Project. She just started the second year of her shopping ban. I also read "The Year of Less" by Cait Flanders. She did a year-long ban that turned into two years without shopping. At the end of her book, Flanders gives a guide on how to do your own shopping ban.


I know I'm not good with money. In general, I can't tell you what I spent most of my money on. My goal is that in doing this ban, I can figure out how much money I actually need, and can make a budget I can stick to. I want to figure out what is important to me and make sure that my spending reflects that. Another goal is to save enough money to make a vegetable container garden.


Knitting

Most of my knitting is now packed up for the move. I left three projects out to work on, partly because they might not fit in the tote. The first of those projects is the sock for my costumer friend. The first sock for her is done, the second one is past the heel. The second project is a sock for another friend. I'm on the first sock there, but it is past the heel. The final unpacked project is the Nightingale sweater. I am still struggling to get past the first four inches. It's one row repeated since I switched from being knit flat to in the round. At least once I finish this section I won't have to do it again for the other side. It is kind of tedious though, and I can't think too hard about the finished garment because I don't know how I'm going to do the sleeves.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Does not follow directions well

I have left the hotel. I am going to focus on school this semester. I really want to graduate next fall and that means doing well in my classes. Classes do not start until the 19th, so I've been fo

bottom of page