top of page
  • Writer's pictureGwen Matthews

Inconsistency

I have been fairly inconsistent with many things lately. The lockdown has not been good for my mental health. I went back to the hospital, and it sucked. Work has been stressful. The worst part has been switching between evenings and overnights. It feels like all I do right now is work and sleep. Despite this I have done some things since my last post. I originally wrote this at 3am after finishing all my work, but it didn't get saved, so I'm trying to remember what all I said the first time.


Knitting


I have started another So Faded sweater. I got past the sleeve separation, which took forever. The yarn is from Rhinebeck, which seems kind of odd since the other So Faded did not make it past the great moving purge because of all the negative feelings associated with it from ex-boyfriend. It's very pretty though. I have just faded in the darkest blue which is going to be the rest of the body.



I have been knitting on socks, both single and two at a time. I thought that the two at a time socks would be easier than single socks, but it's harder to stay motivated with them since I have to shift them around on the needle a lot. I don't particularly like the yarn. It's a self striping that I stole from my mom's stash. The stripes are not the same length, the balls must not have been the same dye lot. It's also not a soft yarn. I like the merino nylon yarns I typically use. Those are also indie dyed, which is more expensive.


The single sock is two of the indie dyed yarns left over from the obnoxiously yellow shawl, which did get finished and sent to a friend. The gold I used in the cuff and toe is a blue faced Leicester. It's not as soft as merino, but it's supposed to be hard wearing. The green and yellow is a super soft merino. I like that yarn much more. I'm still on the first sock, I've kind of just stopped at the toe.



This is the very beginnings of a Magpie Tendency. It doesn't look like much, it's half the neckline and the beginning of a shoulder. I am making this for the friend I sent the obnoxiously yellow shawl to. She is very amazed by my knitting ability, which makes me want to make her stuff.


The Sunlight Shawl for Sad People has not seen much progress, but I like the colors. It is the last color from the obnoxiously yellow shawl, and an amazing rainbow speckled from the same dyer, Shirsty Cat Designs. This is the second time I've made this pattern. I like my blue one, but I wanted a bigger one, which is why I'm using more than one skein this time. I also really like the name.


The granny stripe blanket has seen a few rows of progress. It has two sparkly yarns, that you can't see too well, and I've started using two grays together. I think the light and dark gray mix looks pretty good.


I have bought a lot of yarn recently. The red is for the Magpie Tendency, and the black is for astro-bro's fiance's slippers. I am embroidering a fennec fox and a platypus on them. Which I have less than two weeks to get done since I told him I'd send them out by then.


Mr Kitty


This cat, who looks so innocent in his sleep, has been such a pain. He wants all the attention only when he wants it. He has been very insistent about getting in my room while I'm doing my online counselling sessions. He has torn a hole in the carpet right outside my door. Yesterday I decided to let him in the room. He stayed on the desk the whole time. At one point he was sprawled on his back and reached a paw up into the camera's field of view. Being able to pet him did help with my anxiety. I don't know if I'm going to let him in the next time.


Moving

We are moving in just under a month. It's a little further out from school and work, but it's on a creek, which I really like. There's plenty of space for planting things. It's a nice house. There's no cell phone signal there, though which is going to be interesting.

I don't think I need to do another moving purge, since I don't have a lot of stuff anyway.


Staycation

I really needed a break from work and I have two days in a row off, so I've started a mini staycation. It started this morning with a picnic at the pond. It was very nice. We had pastries, quiche, and hot cocoa. After that I just slept for most of the day. I did overnight last night, and I've been tired. Tomorrow we're going to do face masks and paint our nails. It's going to be nice and relaxing.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Does not follow directions well

I have left the hotel. I am going to focus on school this semester. I really want to graduate next fall and that means doing well in my classes. Classes do not start until the 19th, so I've been fo

bottom of page