top of page
  • Writer's pictureGwen Matthews

No Internet for another week

The move is over. The unpacking has begun. And there is no internet at the new house until the 20th. We have been going to McDonald's to use the free wifi, which has not been great. It is somewhat better than no internet at all for 3 weeks. It's all just very frustrating right now.


For someone without the internet, I have been doing a lot of online shopping for the last few days. My phone can get internet at work, and there's a point each evening where I run out of work to do. This has led to several purchases on Amazon and Joanne's because apps are easy. Most of what I've bought has been sewing related, fabric, tracing paper, pattern books, that type of thing. I got a Bluetooth speaker for my bathroom, and a notebook specifically for Project Deal with Shit.


Project Deal with Shit is about actually dealing with the traumas that happened while I was at school. I have always run into a wall of "I don't want to deal with this" in the past. It's stressful and unpleasant and painful. As much as I don't want to do it, I know I'll be better afterward. I am figuring out which parts I don't want to deal with and working on them.


In terms of crafting projects, I have made some progress on things. I am more than halfway through the heel of the second yellow sock. I have organized my knitting projects based on the type of object; sweaters, shawls, and socks are the three main categories right now. I decided that I have too many projects to start any new knitting projects. As a result, I have started a cross-stitch project. It says "I can't adult today," surrounded by roses. I have finished the words and am on the first set of roses. I already have plans and supplies for my next project, but that has to wait until the internet returns, so I can order the chart off Etsy. It's not going to have appropriate words on it, so I probably won't share it here.


I have started sewing again. I got some fabric from Walmart to make masks. I wanted something bright and cheerful, so I picked yellow and white stripes with limes on them. The fabric for the inside of the masks is bright green. I made one yesterday that did not have the inner pocket. It turned out really cute, but the hair ties I'm using for ear loops are very tight. I know they will stretch out as I use the masks. I have plans to make a skirt from one of my Tilly and the Buttons books. I am waiting on the things I ordered to arrive, some of it should get here Saturday.


Mr. Kitty is enjoying the creek room in the new house. He can lay in the cat tree in the sun, and it's warm. He has made a few escape attempts but the yard is fenced in and he hasn't figured out he can go under the gate. He does like exploring outside.


In terms of mental health, I've been having some issues. There has been a lot of change lately and that always makes things hard for me. My work schedule went crazy for a bit because half the staff either quit or got fired. New people have been hired, hopefully, they stick around.

Classes start Monday after the Internet returns. I'm a bit nervous about them because it's been a while since I was in class and most of my classes are online, with one being a hybrid of online and in person. I'll need to get everything set up for going to campus twice a week. It's more change, which is stressful.


Noom is going ok. I have lost 7 pounds so far. My pants keep sliding down, so I must be getting smaller. I keep running into the "I don't want to do this" feeling, which is related to the traumas. I was much smaller then, and it feels like if I get smaller again, the traumas could happen again. I know that it's not a logical thought, but PTSD isn't logical.


Overall things are getting better.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Does not follow directions well

I have left the hotel. I am going to focus on school this semester. I really want to graduate next fall and that means doing well in my classes. Classes do not start until the 19th, so I've been fo

bottom of page