top of page
  • Writer's pictureGwen Matthews

Two photos of Mr Kitty cuz he's adorable

My hours are changing at the job, so I'll only be doing overnights once a week. This probably means I'll do less rambling on here at five in the morning. Probably, it's not guaranteed.

Working during the day has been different. My shifts are longer, but I do get an extra day off. I don't know if it balances out yet. I do get tired of answering the phone after nine hours, which makes the last hour annoying. My brain tends to feel fried by the end of it.


I haven't don't a ton of knitting this week, but I did work on something that hasn't made an appearance in a while. Took me all week but I got one row done on the pank experiment. It is really annoying to intentionally misspell words in my tablet, so that may be the last time I call it by it's name, at least until I get in the actual computer.



Figuring out where I was in the project was annoying. I knew I just had to knit for a while but I didn't know for how many rows. I tried counting the rows in the last section but couldn't keep track. I had to find the pattern I originally got the numbers from and used that to count the sections. Turns out I'm on section six which is forty right rows long. I'm on row nine. And they are long rows.

I also had to relearn how to hold the yarn properly, because I haven't been doing that. It's going to be interesting how the gauge changes throughout the shawl. I got it back on the right size needle since it became available when the two at a time socks were finished. I did decide I'm not going to continue the stockinette because I don't like purling. It's going to be garter for the rest of the way. I have no idea how far I'll get with the rest of the yarn I have. I don't think I want to order more hedgehog fibers. It's pretty but I don't like the feel of it.


The Shirsty cat yarn I'm using in the yellow sock is amazing though. It's nice and soft. And the colors are so vibrant. The way it pools is interesting. I'm about halfway done with the foot. It's nice mindless knitting. Just going around and around the little circle.



Mr Kitty saw his first deer. He was astounded. He just leaned as far of the deck railing as he could and started at it.

He has also discovered the joy of packing supplies. Yesterday he made a bed out of bubble wrap and foam sheets. He did not move at all while I was home.



He also enjoyed some time on my bed this week, after harassing me at my desk until I threw him on it. I did add the fuzzy blanket for him to enjoy. He spent the whole afternoon there.


I'm all set to go back to school. It will almost all be online though since philosophy doesn't really need to be taught in person. I don't know how I feel about it since one of the things I want from going back is to meet people and make friends. There are clubs I would join if I could, but I don't know if they're even going to be allowed to meet. I will at least have classmates to talk with even if it's virtual. I have a religion and culture class that will be a hybrid of in person and online.


I've realized that I don't really want to go back to seeing the people at the school's counselling center. I don't want to switch people again because it feels like starting over. It is less expensive than seeing outside people since it's covered by the health fee. I will probably end up doing it anyway, because if I work less while I'm in school I won't have the extra money to keep seeing the people I have been seeing. It sucks, but it has to be done.


I've been doing ok lately. I've had some anxiety, but not a ton. For the most part I've felt fairly calm. I'm tired a lot, and I don't know why. Mom will probably say it's because I don't eat well and I don't exercise, she's probably right. I emailed a Taekwondo studio about a self defense class they offer. I figure it would be a good way to get active, but right now it's all virtual and I don't know how that would work. They haven't responded to my questions yet. I want to start fencing again, but the only place I know of where I could do that is at the college and they might not be doing clubs this fall. I also want to learn how to dance ballet, which I know the college used to have clubs that teach it. The virus has just really messed up my ability to do stuff.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Does not follow directions well

I have left the hotel. I am going to focus on school this semester. I really want to graduate next fall and that means doing well in my classes. Classes do not start until the 19th, so I've been fo

bottom of page