top of page
  • Writer's pictureGwen Matthews

Untitled

Another post only a week later? What madness is this? I don't really have much else to do at five in the morning while I'm doing an overnight shift. I understand why I have to be here when there's nothing to do, but it's boring. I've started watching Disney movies. I can watch about half of one before I get tired. And tired is the enemy right now cuz caffeine is not my friend. I have to stay awake by willpower alone, which I don't think is going to work when I have to get to the psychiatrist's office an hour away. I am hoping the powers that be will drive me.


The staycation was wonderful. I did not follow the schedule I had made. I did not care. I was relaxing and enjoying doing nothing. We watched Where'd you go Bernadette. It was good. I didn't finish the book because I didn't think I'd like the ending, but I liked it in the movie. We had Thai food, which was not as good as I wanted it to be. Thai tea is weird. Mostly I just sat and knit. I got a lot done with my knitting.




I have a finished object! The two at a time socks are finally done. They took far longer than they should have cuz I just didn't want to work on them. The staycation rejuvenated my mojo. I was able to power through the last inch of foot and the toe. I even kitchenered them the same day.

I still have to wash them. I'm hoping that will soften them up a bit. I love soft socks. I'm going to wait until I finish the yellow socks to do that.




The yellow socks are nearing completion, compared to where they were. The first sock was knit cuff down, but after kitchenering three toes in one day, I've decided to do the second sock toe up. The toe is already done and I've switched to the main color. I'm pretty pleased with my progress.




The sweater grows slowly. The other morning I timed how long one round takes. Half an hour and by the end of it my shoulder hurts. I need to work on knitting without moving my arm, but that means working on the pink shawl. The row counter for that is on my old phone. It's another step between here and working on it.


The scrappy blanket has seen a tiny bit of work, less than a full row. I still like the marled gray, but it is too hot to be working on a blanket right now.




There has been a yarn acquisition, not because I bought anything new, but because the last of what I bought before finally arrived today. It is gorgeous and blue and speckled and will grow up to be socks. At the moment I like knitting socks. The progress is easy to see. And it came with a smiley face progress keeper. The colors in the photo are not accurate, it is a deep blue and then white with speckles. The photos on etsy made it look more coral than white, but I still really like it.



Mr Kitty loved that brother and his wife came to visit. He got all the attention and the laps. He did have a few crazy cat moments where he absolutely had to just run everywhere. These were at least partially brought on by the flutter roller toy. He always gets a little wild when he plays with it.


He still loves his cat tree by the window. It's a sunny spot perfect for napping in. He's been less annoying this week. He hasn't been interrupting video calls or tearing up the carpet. At least not that I know of. He does disappear sometimes. Nobody knows where in the house he goes, but he does come back after a few hours.


Because it's only been a week, I don't have that much to say this time. I am surprised that nine people read this. I don't think I told nine people about it. But I do appreciate you reading my ramblings and looking at my not so great photos. I'm really going to try to post more regularly.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Does not follow directions well

I have left the hotel. I am going to focus on school this semester. I really want to graduate next fall and that means doing well in my classes. Classes do not start until the 19th, so I've been fo

bottom of page