top of page
  • Writer's pictureGwen Matthews

Yay! The move is done

Knitting


I have decided to only work on 4 projects at a time, and I have to finish all the non-blanket projects before casting on anything new. It's a bit difficult because I have plenty of yarn I could use.


The first project that is inching towards being finished is the socks for my Graphic Designer friend. They are such a fun color, it's called Color Run. I think it's by Destination Yarns, I lost the band so I don't know for sure. It may be a merino cashmere nylon blend.





The next project is also socks. These socks are a bit older, by a few months. They are for another friend. I didn't keep the ball band but I did put the yarn information into the wonderful Ravelry, which I tend not to do. It's from Twisted Owl Fiber Studio and the colorway is Raz Ma Taz. It's a slightly less fun color. It has more blues, purples, and a lot more white.





The third project and the last one that's actually been worked on is the Scrappy Blanket. The current color is yellow, I don't know what kind, or what the yarn was used in before. I have gotten a row done since the move, which is good. It's more than I've done in the last several months.





The last project, that I haven't touched, is the Nightingale sweater. I want to work on it but there are just so many stitches in each round. Of course, that's because it's supposed to be knit flat in pieces rather than in the round.


Baking Bread


I have been baking more bread. My mom is making soup for a church thing so I made two boules for her to take with it. The bread came out looking awesome. I am slightly disappointed I don't get to eat any.





I do have plans to make more bread since the first boule is gone. It's going to be a no-knead bread that rests overnight. If it actually gets done when I intend to do it, I will have made 4 loafs this week, except none of them will have been loaf-shaped.


The Pond


There's a pond near the house, well ten-ish minutes away. The pond that's within walking distance is sad. The nice pond is a day-use area in the National Forest, so it's very nice. There is a nice trail going around the pond, it's about a mile long. There are lots of Canadian Geese there, tourists are what my mom calls them. There's a pair of mallards as well, and a heron too. The pond is going to be beautiful when it gets warmer.


Mr. Kitty


Since I've been back, Mr. Kitty has forgiven me for leaving. The other night he even snuggled up under my blankets with me. He does love his cat tree by the window and the sunny spot on the living room floor in the morning.





He is a very good alarm clock that cat. He wants to be fed at 7 a.m. and he lets the whole house know it.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Does not follow directions well

I have left the hotel. I am going to focus on school this semester. I really want to graduate next fall and that means doing well in my classes. Classes do not start until the 19th, so I've been fo

bottom of page